Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Teen and Young Adult Social *This Friday MAY 17th* at 8PM ET/7PM CT/5PM PT

 

Join us for another Teen and Young adult Online social. We will play some games, gab, and connect. 

Zoom Link



5-6PM PST
6-7PM MST
7-8PM CST
8-9PM EST

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Retreat 2024: Getting Around Baltimore


 


We are less than two months from the 2024 Annual Family Retreat and Educational Symposium weekend. The most important thing when in a new city is transportation, or finding ways to get around. In a future blog post, I will cover attractions and eateries. I'm excited to explore this historic city that seemingly loves history, open ocean, baseball, and a something a little spooky - the Poe Museum. 

Editor's Note: Please talk to hotel staff, concierge, or local retreat attendees to make sure your chosen mode of transportation is the safest choice for where you are headed. At night be sure to buddy up with one or more people before you go galavanting into the night. 





Maryland MTA - Public Transit

Public Transit runs from the train station and the local airports. Maryland MTA has a variety of public transportation options from buses, trains, to water taxi. I love that the website has a trip planner option because I like to just cut to the chase and put in my point a and point b, then go. There are also route maps, and so much more. Please also make use of Google maps on your phone to help build your trips from airport to hotel, or hotel to local attraction. Download the CharmPass App on your phone before you get moving. 

Charm City Circulator







Everyone knows how much I love free, but you know what I love even more: alliteration. At your service is the Charm City Circulator which runs during the day for free all across town. On the Circulator's website, you can learn how far this free ride will take you, and back, of course. Easily track the wearabouts of the next bus to pull up on the website. 

Harbor Connector

Since we are conveniently located in the Baltimore's Inner Harbor, the Harbor Connector (also free, just with less alliteration), seems like a scenic way to get where you are going.  Ahoy, maties, the Harbor Connecter runs from 6AM - 8PM, but may stop service due to inclement weather. Go to the website to learn more and sign up for alerts. 




Rideshare and Taxis

Rideshare apps like Uber and Lyft are also great alternatives to the low-cost and free options outlined above. I love a Lyft! 


Pedestrians Unite!

Within walking distance, you can visit the Science Center, Aquarium, and Federal Hill Park. Camden Yards is just shy of a half mile away. The area appears to be teeming with culture and fun things to do. Hopefully you will find some fun on foot. Please do set out on foot with friends. 

Tuesday, May 7, 2024

Inappropriate SNL 'Anomalous Man' Debuts Before Face Equality Week May 13 - 19


 

The fight for representation continues in writer's rooms around the world. May 4th's Saturday Night Live aired a sketch called Anomalous Man, featuring a Elephant man-like fellow falling in love with a beautiful woman. Anomalous man is found out as the player he is when his phone(s) "dings" during this period piece that reveals him texting with other women. Phone addiction and modern (ahem) dating culture would be better served without the need to exploit persons with facial differences. His appearance did not need to be a device for the skit to be a successful one. It was quite unnecessary. Our Executive Director, Erica Klauber, shares more on our feelings about this SNL sketch in this video

Writers should be able to get their jokes and overall point across without poking fun at a person's physical attributes. Thankfully, CCA Kids joins the Face Equality International's (FEI) efforts to raise awareness about these issues of representation on screen, stage, and more each year during Face Equality Week, May 13 - 19, 2024. "Face Equality International is an alliance of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), charities and support groups which are working at national, regional or international levels to promote the campaign for ‘face equality.'" During the 2024 face equality week, FEI will share with the world that every face is equal because we are all masterpieces. The theme, "my face is a masterpiece" will utilize art as a tool for social good. If our bodies and faces are works of art, then the hope is that our collective humanity is reflected in the entertainment we consume at home and in theaters around the world. 

Please take a look at this year's theme on the FEI website, and follow their social media pages. Take a look at the other nonprofits and non-government organizations that will come together to bring their take on the theme to life via social media campaigns. 

Link to full video response: 


https://youtu.be/HiK6w06aUM0?si=IjZJ0FzkLdbEvE9I



Monday, March 4, 2024

Teen & Young Adult Online Social, Friday, March 22nd

 CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE ZOOM On Friday, March 22nd 

Check your Time Zone and Login

5-6PM PST
6-7PM MT
7-8PM CST
8-9PM EST


 CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE ZOOM ON MARCH 22nd 

Sunday, February 4, 2024

Camp Cosmos March 2024

 



Join our friends at ConnectMed for their upcoming Camp Cosmos on Saturday, March 16th. The virtual portion of the day is open to any child with a facial difference with access to Zoom and the internet. Times are 9:30-11:00AM PST / 11:30AM - 1:00PM CT / 12:30-2:00PM ET

For residents of the San Diego area, there will be an in-person component at 15529 Sycamore Canyon Rd, Poway, CA 92064 from 12:30PM - 3:00PM PST


Register here